Chicken Curry Salad…

This past week was a killer!  I’ve started to train for the Aids Lifecycle once again and also preparing for the upcoming bathing suit season.  The day job has kicked back into full swing and folks are hiring again.  The combination of training and work is exhausting!

When I got home one night this week nothing sounded good to eat and I was being too lazy to invest any real length of time into cooking.  What to do what to do.  I was thinking it would be good to have something to take for lunch the next day because lord knows the restaurants around the office get old.  The dilemma grows.

Inspiration struck and it struck in the form of curry and pita bread.  I just needed to figure out what to make with the two.  Chicken had been on sale the week before and I had several breasts in the freezer, so the solution is Curry Chicken Salad.

Most chicken curry salad recipes call for chutney, but the bf is deathly allergic to mango’s, so this reflects my desire to not kill him.  This is simple, requires little labor and is tasty.  It truly does taste better the longer it sits, so it’s great to make for lunch.

Ingredients

  • 6  chicken breasts, bone-in, skin-on
  • Olive oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups light mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons orange marmalade
  • 3 tablespoons curry powder
  • 2 stocks of celery, diced
  • 2 chopped scallions
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1 cup whole roasted, salted cashews

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the chicken breasts on a sheet pan and rub the skin with olive oil and season with salt & pepper.  Roast the chicken for 40 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool for about 15 to 20 minutes.  Once it is cool remove skin, remove chicken from the bones and then cut into bite-size pieces.

While the chicken is cooking you can combine in a large mixing bowl the mayonnaise, marmalade, chicken stock, curry powder, 2 teaspoons salt and 1 teaspoon black pepper.  Whisk until fully combined. Then add the chicken, celery, raisins, scallions and cashews. Mix until everything is equally coated.

You can serve now, but it’s better to let it rest in the fridge for a few hours.  To serve I cut a pita in half and filled it up with the curry chicken salad.  It’s good stuff!!

2 responses to “Chicken Curry Salad…

  1. I like this lunch idea especially since I work across the street from THE tourist trap of the city and hate going out in it. Pier 39.
    I suppose I can use boneless chicken breasts, how would this effect the recipe? ie: cooking time, needing to cover while cooking…
    I also like that I have pretty much all of this with the exception of celery & scallions.
    Thanks Brandon

  2. I always recommend using the bone in/skin on because it is much easier to cook – it’s very hard to over cook it and dry out the meat. Adds a couple steps, but is worth it.

Leave a comment