The apprenticeship…

A big part of my move into the culinary world is making progress with formal training.  For the past few years I have weighed my options of the various culinary schools – so many choices, with so many different programs.  Confusing to say the least!  Over the past 6 months or so, I’ve really been networking with Executive Chefs, both here locally and across the country.  I have received consistent advice…to really learn how to become a great Chef does not mean going to an expensive culinary school, it means that I will eventually need to go to France or Italy for a bit.  Of course there is some pre-work prior to being ready for that.  The two big things that need to happen are obtaining an apprenticeship with a great Chef here locally and to learn either French or Italian or possibly both.

Anyone who is close to me knows that I’m a huge WAG fan – that’s short for Will & Grace in case you were not aware.  I mention this because the news that I received today deserves the proclamation that Jack makes when he enters the room imitating a cheerleader and proclaims “Big news! Hit it! B-I-G N-E-W-S. Big…news!”  I know..wow Mary..very gay.

I thought I had landed a great apprenticeship a few months back, but the Chef and I were just not compatible – he was a wee bit bat crazy!   So, I’m very excited to say that I have been chosen for an apprenticeship at a top rated French restaurant here in San Francisco.  The Executive Chef is highly accomplished – a winner of the James Beard Award and awards from numerous food magazines.  He has received an award from the French Government and his restaurants have received numerous awards.  He is also known for mentoring future successful chefs!  I start this weekend and I’m so excited!!  The Chef was born in France and still has a fairly thick French accent, so this should help with the second goal of learning French.

I’m very excited to be getting started and can’t wait to learn.  Of course, this doesn’t mean I will be leaving my day job anytime soon.  I love the people I work with and recruiting.  If anything it means more focus and determination for the next year or so, a long stint in France or Italy is not cheap!

I would imagine my learning should make for some interesting blogs!  Not to worry my friends who like to be my local guinea pigs – I will still making dinners for you try.

Leave a comment